Fifteen Years Later

Just as I was 15 years ago when the horrors began to unfold, today I was teaching when we remembered the planes hitting buildings. Today church bells rang twice during my class.   Today I knew what those bells were for.  Fifteen years ago I was teaching second period, Honors English 12.  It was a tiny class.  The year had just started–we barely knew each other.

My teaching partner Sue called my class.  She was downstairs doing a teaching duty when the first and second planes struck.  My phone rang.  She said I should turn on the television, something was going on.  I doubted her; she stressed that I should turn it on.  I believed her.  I had no idea what I was about to show my students.  But if Sue said it was important, it was.

And it was.  I think of that moment of my doubt, of thinking “what could be more important than [whatever forgettable content I was teaching]?”  The innocence of that moment.  The audacity of thinking what I was doing was more important than what was happening.

I don’t think I have ever had that moment again.

Students looked to me to explain the unexplainable in 2001.  In 2016, unimaginably 15 years later, I felt the need to give students the time and space to open their hearts to the vulnerability we have felt this past decade and a half.

That Tuesday morning shifted my world.  It is the moment jingoism and nationalism–not just patriotism–took hold.  I feel like I have been vigilant every day since.  Not vigilant looking for terror.  Instead, vigilant looking for our responses to it.

The hyper-everything that followed that day.  First it was hyper-grief that we were never allowed to feel as we were encouraged to move on with our lives and not “let the terrorists win.”  We needed to grieve.  We didn’t have time to reflect and feel.  Perhaps we moved too quickly to anger.  Hyper-anger.  Perhaps beyond just anger.

Hyper-militarization.  Hyper-masculinity.  Hyper-nationalism.

Hyper-anxiety and hyper-fatigue.

Today I read this poem written a day after the attacks:

 

Wage peace with your breath.

Breathe in firemen and rubble,
breathe out whole buildings and flocks of red wing blackbirds.

Breathe in terrorists
and breathe out sleeping children and freshly mown fields.

Breathe in confusion and breathe out maple trees.

Breathe in the fallen and breathe out lifelong friendships intact.

Wage peace with your listening: hearing sirens, pray loud.

Remember your tools: flower seeds, clothes pins, clean rivers.

Make soup.

Play music, memorize the words for thank you in three languages.

Learn to knit, and make a hat.

Think of chaos as dancing raspberries,
imagine grief
as the outbreath of beauty
or the gesture of fish.

Swim for the other side.

Wage peace.

Never has the world seemed so fresh and precious:

Have a cup of tea and rejoice.

Act as if armistice has already arrived.
Celebrate today.

 

“wage peace” judyth hill – september 12, 2001
But we never got that armistice.  Because armistice no longer exists.  There is no armistice in a war of ideas.  There is no end to the game of Risk in which fighting parties capture territories and then move on to heal and repair–often alongside their enemy.
So when I read this poem today, my heart ached.  My open, vulnerable heart.  Because we may never know such a peace again.  Because that person who thought she didn’t need to turn on the tv fifteen years ago is gone–an entire nation of us is gone.  Three thousand of us were gone that day.
Some became ash.
Some became heroes.
Some became guilt-ridden survivors.
What have we all become?  Where do we go from here?  Will I ever be less vigilant?
I wage peace with my breath.  And when I fail to do so, I try again.  Breathe with me today.  For the people we lost.  And for the person we lost in all of us that day.
img_3169
Leave a Reply

Lay's Thoughts

Feminist Theory

TEACHING FEMINISM

A blog about how to talk to and teach high schoolers about feminism

Reflections for Educators

A website for using the Reflections series in the classroom

Small Town Feminist

Thoughts and comments from a college feminist living in a small town.

2016 Presidential Election: Women's and Gender Issues

"Gender equality is more than a goal in itself. It is a precondition for meeting the challenge of reducing poverty, promoting sustainable development and building good governance." — Kofi Annan

Rise Up Doylestown!

We stand together in solidarity with our partners and children for the protection of our rights, our safety, our health, and our families - recognizing that our vibrant and diverse communities are the strength of our country.

KU Postcolonial Theory and Texts: Spring 2017

“Create dangerously, for people who read dangerously. ... Writing, knowing in part that no matter how trivial your words may seem, someday, somewhere, someone may risk his or her life to read them.” Edwidge Danticat

Site Title

“Love recognizes no barriers. It jumps hurdles, leaps fences, penetrates walls to arrive at its destination full of hope.” — Maya Angelou

Her Road Less Traveled

“Love recognizes no barriers. It jumps hurdles, leaps fences, penetrates walls to arrive at its destination full of hope.” — Maya Angelou

Teaching Acceptance

“A feminist is anyone who recognizes the equality and full humanity of women and men.” Gloria Steinem

Anne Imschwei blog

If a man does not keep pace with his companions perhaps it is because he hears a different drummer. Let him step to the music which he hears however measured or far away." Thoreau

Jinn's Blog

“There are many ways to be free. One of them is to transcend reality by imagination, as I try to do.” ― Anaïs Nin

A Postcolonial Something

"Every empire, however, tells itself and the world that it is unlike all other empires, that its mission is not to plunder and control but to educate and liberate." -Edward Said

PostColonial Minds

An exploration of ongoing struggles

Heather's Post-Colonialism Page

I have no idea what I am doing, and that's ok.

LGBT Non-Profit Internship

WGS 390: Internship in Women's and Gender Studies

Inside 254

Come inside & chat

Standardized Testing

Why tests are hurting our children

