Weekly Digest: January 31

When I started these digests last week, I was worried that I wouldn’t have enough material for the next week.  Well, I shall never worry about that again.

Michelle Obama’s “fashion” choices caused perhaps too much of a stir when she did not don any kind of head covering when visiting Saudi Arabia earlier this week.  I agree with Vanessa Friedman who argues that the problem wasn’t the choice to forego the scarf but that the administration didn’t explain that choice before arriving in the country.  Or did the First Lady have a choice?  Should she have respected the country’s customs (Laura Bush did don a scarf at one point during her husband’s admin)?  Well, that depends on which news source you ask.  It was a “bold political statement!”  It was because she has great arms and doesn’t want to cover up (thanks, Glenn Beck, for sexualizing her in the first two minutes of your discussion of Veil-Gate)!  It does seem to me that Mrs. Obama doesn’t make any choice lightly, so perhaps her bared head in a country in which women still are not permitted to drive or leave the house without permission and in which bloggers are flogged for speaking against the country does make a statement about liberation and freedom.

In the name of reconciliation, South Africa released a death squad leader who killed many anti-apartheid activists.  Eugene de Kock did reach out to families of those he killed and asked for forgiveness and did lead authorities to the remains of some of those he killed.  If you don’t know much about the Truth and Reconciliation Commission, this moving film shows the importance and struggles of working toward healing a nation.  It is worth every second it takes to watch it.  I show it every time I teach my course on Modern South Africa, and it always stuns my students.

Falling under the “I’m Confused” category of news this week, I found myself puzzled at Cosmo’s strange attempt to draw attention to the story of Shafilea Ahmed by creating a publicity stunt cover and complementary video depicting a woman suffocating.  I think Cosmo suffocates a lot of things–such a females who do not want to be pigeonholed into being sexual goddesses all day, every day–and it seems to me all they did was fetishize a very real problem and use it to sell magazines.  Not raise awareness.  Though I guess we all know who this woman is now.

I couldn’t stop reading Lynsey Addario’s essay “What Can a Pregnant Photojournalist Cover?  Everything.”  In it she talks about the tension of returning to work after having a baby.  Granted, I don’t work in war zones, but I appreciated her showing the challenges of being a mother and loving one’s career simultaneously.  In short, she is totally kick ass.

The NYT ran another photo essay that, when I looked at it, the world around me grew quiet (it even shut up the Doc McStuffins theme song that runs nonstop in my head).  Nancy Borowick documented both her parents’ cancer treatments (that’s right, both her parents had cancer at the same time) and then her mother’s death.  Both slide shows will stop time as they remind you that time never stops.

My amazing friend Carrie Hagen published another piece for Smithsonian.  Carrie does the work of bringing out of the darkness stories that the culture needs to remember after having forgotten them (her book we is got him tells the story of the first ransomed kidnapping in the United States while telling the story of the nation at the same time…go and read it now).  This week’s piece tells the story of codebreaker Elizebeth Friedman and her work during Prohibition.  Anyone as addicted to Bletchley Circle as I am will enjoy this read about an important woman we all have never heard of.

And finally, in the “it has only been two weeks but I already love my students” column, comes the Super Bowl ad airing on Sunday.  They brought it up on Friday–they are already thinking like Women’s and Gender Studies scholars (I told them that the Super Bowl would now be ruined for them, and then we had a good conversation about whether we can derive pleasure from things that we also can see are problematic:  I said yes).  My comment was that while I think the commercial will do important work, I will be watching more to see what commercials frame this important ad.  If the ad before is for Go Daddy and the one after is for Bud Light, i.e., if the partner violence ad is framed by ads in which women are treated as objects, thereby creating a climate in which patriarchy is allowed to thrive, then I will be unimpressed with the efforts being made.  Am I happy we are drawing awareness to an issue that has been with us forever and suddenly people are paying attention?  Sure.  I am all about bringing the larger culture into the fold of the fight.  Yet I also want to see the work being done go beyond one minute.  So I will be watching closely to see how the ad is framed.  Best case scenario:  it runs without any other commercials.  It gets its own spot.  And then the screen goes blank for a second allowing the message to sink in. But that second is worth seven bazillion bucks.  So my guess is my utopian vision will succumb to capitalist desires.  Again. (When I watched the public service announcement, the preceding ad that I was forced to watch showed three scantily clad women and then a car.  The ad ended with the assumption that Ludacris was going to be having sex with those women.  So, you know, ludicrous.  And I would say tone deaf as well.  Here’s hoping the NFL does a better job).

 

 

And here I was worried there wouldn’t be enough to talk about…

 

2 comments

  1. Thanks for sending along some powerful stories of the week. The Super Bowl continues to be a source for so much discussion. Glad you’re inviting your students to think critically about pop culture.

    1. Thank you for visiting. We have our best discussions about pop culture. They teach me a thing or two.

Leave a Reply

Standardized Testing

How testing harms children

Lay's Thoughts

Feminist Theory

TEACHING FEMINISM

A blog about how to talk to and teach high schoolers about feminism

Reflections for Educators

A website for using the Reflections series in the classroom

Small Town Feminist

Thoughts and comments from a college feminist living in a small town.

2016 Presidential Election: Women's and Gender Issues

"Gender equality is more than a goal in itself. It is a precondition for meeting the challenge of reducing poverty, promoting sustainable development and building good governance." — Kofi Annan

Rise Up Doylestown!

We stand together in solidarity with our partners and children for the protection of our rights, our safety, our health, and our families - recognizing that our vibrant and diverse communities are the strength of our country.

KU Postcolonial Theory and Texts: Spring 2017

“Create dangerously, for people who read dangerously. ... Writing, knowing in part that no matter how trivial your words may seem, someday, somewhere, someone may risk his or her life to read them.” Edwidge Danticat

Site Title

“Love recognizes no barriers. It jumps hurdles, leaps fences, penetrates walls to arrive at its destination full of hope.” — Maya Angelou

Her Road Less Traveled

“Love recognizes no barriers. It jumps hurdles, leaps fences, penetrates walls to arrive at its destination full of hope.” — Maya Angelou

Teaching Acceptance

“A feminist is anyone who recognizes the equality and full humanity of women and men.” Gloria Steinem

Anne Imschwei blog

If a man does not keep pace with his companions perhaps it is because he hears a different drummer. Let him step to the music which he hears however measured or far away." Thoreau

Jinn's Blog

“There are many ways to be free. One of them is to transcend reality by imagination, as I try to do.” ― Anaïs Nin

A Postcolonial Something

"Every empire, however, tells itself and the world that it is unlike all other empires, that its mission is not to plunder and control but to educate and liberate." -Edward Said

PostColonial Minds

An exploration of ongoing struggles

Heather's Post-Colonialism Page

I have no idea what I am doing, and that's ok.

LGBT Non-Profit Internship

WGS 390: Internship in Women's and Gender Studies

Inside 254

Come inside & chat

