Barbie and Sports Illustrated: A Match Made in Heaven

I can’t stop thinking about the 2014 Sports Illustrated swimsuit edition.  Usually when it comes out it merits a small blip on my feminist radar, a minor annoyance or a peeve at best.  But this year, the cover has me hot, and not in the Valentine’s Day sort of way.

Image

I have been trying to gather my thoughts about why this cover makes me so irate, and a great discussion of this image in my Intro to Women’s and Gender studies class has helped me clarify and deepen my thoughts.  I thought I would share a few here:

1.  Barbie is not an athlete

I know that this is not a requirement of being in this special issue, so perhaps this criticism is more of the issue phenom itself and not this year’s selection.  Sure, she does yoga and other activities, but she isn’t an Olympian.

2.  Barbie is a children’s toy.

Perhaps I should be glad that popular culture is finally acknowledging what feminists have been arguing for decades:  that Barbie is a sex object, one that I don’t want in the hands of my daughter.  I feel vindicated.  The fact that I have been fighting the Barbie tide–making me look like a crazy shrew of a mother–no longer feels as shrewish.  The conflation of Barbie as children’s toy and Barbie as sex object swimsuit model makes my argument all the easier to make–and all the more painful.

3.  Barbie is for the male gaze.

Being on the cover of this magazine for all intents and heteronormative purposes makes Barbie the object of the male gaze.  Who is Barbie for?  Little girls?  Or grown adults (mainly the target audience of men)?  If the answer is both, this culture has some deep soul searching to do.

4.  This particular Barbie reminds us that the female body is a tool for capitalistic enterprises.

You can only get this Barbie at Target.com (she’s $19.99).  Selling her image=selling the doll=selling out a little girl (simplistic, but I have an actual little girl I need to tend to, so it will have to do for now).

5.  Barbie is not human.

It makes sense when a three-year-old gives a doll an active imagined life.  It does not make sense when a company run by adults does the same thing.  When I read a Mattel spokeswoman say that “As a legend herself, and under criticism about her body and how she looks, posing in ‘Sports Illustrated Swimsuit’ gives Barbie and her fellow legends an opportunity to own who they are, celebrate what they have done, and be unapologetic,” my head hurts.  So the accomplishments of actual females is the same as the imaginary ones?  We have to ask:  Do those accomplishments means nothing in the material sense?

6.  Barbie is plastic

So here’s where the true theoretical rubber hits the road.  Barbie is a doll.  She is PLASTIC, for fuck’s sake.  And I was really stuck on why she was even on the cover until my students told me about the controversy over last year’s cover when Kate Upton was too fleshy, too big, too much, too genetically disadvantaged to be thinner.  They helped me realize that this cover is in direct response to those criticisms:  What safer way to avoid dealing with actual human flesh than putting plastic on the cover?  We don’t even need Photoshop anymore.  bell hooks reminds us of the problem actual flesh creates in “Beauty Within and Without.”  By making the flesh disappear and putting a plastic doll designed in the image of the beauty myth–white, thin, blonde, long hair, perfect makeup, etc. (thanks, Naomi Wolf), SI gets to avoid having to deal with that messy problem of an actual fleshed woman.

I will write to Target and tell them what I think of them carrying this doll (really, I am just going to copy this post and let them know what I think.  I give you permission to do the same).  I know my voice isn’t loud enough to win out over the Barbie enthusiasts, but I am still going to make it heard.  Maybe you would like to join me?

2 comments

  1. It’s hard to imagine anyone thought putting Barbie on the cover was a good idea. Even if this cover is having a conversation with last year’s cover, I’m guessing the statement might be largely lost on most people? Also, it’s seems just weird to pretend, after all this time and conversation, that anything Barbie does or is can be interpreted as progressive or healthy. Thanks for writing about this.

  2. […] won’t want to return to this blog post.  I had a lot to say about 2014’s issue in a blog post that still holds the title for most hits in my blogging history.  Librarian Roz Warren writes about how the issues always get stolen within 24 hours of landing on […]

Leave a Reply

2016 Presidential Election: Women's and Gender Issues

"Gender equality is more than a goal in itself. It is a precondition for meeting the challenge of reducing poverty, promoting sustainable development and building good governance." — Kofi Annan

Rise Up Doylestown!

We stand together in solidarity with our partners and children for the protection of our rights, our safety, our health, and our families - recognizing that our vibrant and diverse communities are the strength of our country.

KU Postcolonial Theory and Texts: Spring 2017

“Create dangerously, for people who read dangerously. ... Writing, knowing in part that no matter how trivial your words may seem, someday, somewhere, someone may risk his or her life to read them.” Edwidge Danticat

Site Title

“Love recognizes no barriers. It jumps hurdles, leaps fences, penetrates walls to arrive at its destination full of hope.” — Maya Angelou

Her Road Less Traveled

“Love recognizes no barriers. It jumps hurdles, leaps fences, penetrates walls to arrive at its destination full of hope.” — Maya Angelou

Teaching Acceptance

“A feminist is anyone who recognizes the equality and full humanity of women and men.” Gloria Steinem

Anne Imschwei blog

If a man does not keep pace with his companions perhaps it is because he hears a different drummer. Let him step to the music which he hears however measured or far away." Thoreau

Jinn's Blog

“There are many ways to be free. One of them is to transcend reality by imagination, as I try to do.” ― Anaïs Nin

A Postcolonial Something

"Every empire, however, tells itself and the world that it is unlike all other empires, that its mission is not to plunder and control but to educate and liberate." -Edward Said

PostColonial Minds

An exploration of ongoing struggles

Heather's Post-Colonialism Page

I have no idea what I am doing, and that's ok.

LGBT Non-Profit Internship

WGS 390: Internship in Women's and Gender Studies

Inside 254

Come inside & chat

Standardized Testing

Why tests are hurting our children

Words by Megan Michael

The Musings of a Literary Feminist

Site Title

“Love recognizes no barriers. It jumps hurdles, leaps fences, penetrates walls to arrive at its destination full of hope.” — Maya Angelou

Wordvomit thoughts of A 21 yr old

Cant stop addicted to the scribble

The Blushing Bitch

"When a woman gives her opinion, she's a bitch." -Bette Davis

Not the Dead White Guys

Postcolonial Literature

blue milk

thinking + motherhood = feminist

